Wushu Named Best National Sports Association 2009: Honor Bestowed

Wushu named best national sports association

The honor will be bestowed on the organization on Feb.
20 during the San Miguel Corp.-PSA Annual Awards’ Night at the Alegria Lounge of the Manila Pavilion Hotel. Bannered by Willy Wang, wushu was a source of pride for Philippine sports last year, beginning from Macau all the way to Beijing. The 24-year-old Wang served as the face of the national wushu team, winning a gold medal in the nandao event (Southern single-edged sword) of the 7th Asian Wushu Championship. He then capped the year with another gold by topping the men’s nanquan and nangun combined in the Wushu Tournament Beijing 2008, a special side-event held simultaneously with the Olympics. Other recipients of the major award aside from Wang are golfers Jennifer Rosales, Dorothy Delasin, Dottie Ardina and Angelo Que, Wesley So (chess), Nonito Donaire (pro boxing), Kelly Williams (pro basketball), Dennis Orcollo (billiards), Jonathan Hernandez (horseracing), Ibarra and Go Army (horseracing). The 2008 Athlete of the Year honor will be conferred to Manny Pacquiao, who’s also being enshrined in the PSA Hall of Fame. Also supporting the event are Villar Foundation, Senator Francis “Chiz” Escudero, Philippine Sports Commission, Philippine Olympic Committee, Shakey’s, Accel, Philippine Basketball Association, Philippine Basketball League, National Capital Region Athletic Association, Philippine Charity Sweepstakes Office, Samahang Basketbol ng Pilipinas, Purefoods, Ginebra, Alaska, Sta. Lucia, Rain or Shine, Ever Bilena, Harbour Centre, Liga Pilipinas, Environment Secretary Lito Atienza, Pharex, Games and Amusements Board and Mighty Sports Association.

Event Location:
Event Date and Time:
Starts at: